Pure Ice Summer 2015 Swatches

I was walking through my local SuperWalmart when I happend to find myself in the nail section (I know shocker right?). A little end-cap display caught my eye. It was a Pure Ice display (Pure Ice is Walmart’s exclusive brand) and the funny thing is being a Canadian, we don’t really get many Special or Limited Edition releases like this. As I took a closer look, I saw that these were quite different from your average mainstream polish.

Yes those are indeedΒ crelly-glitters!!! They have a very indie feel to them. So I immediately purchased them all – at $1.97 you can’t go wrong!!!! Scroll down for swatches.

Cookies 'N Cream
Cookies ‘N Cream

Cookies ‘N Cream is black matte hex and micro-glitters in a white crelly base. This had the best formula of the six. This is only 2 coats plus top coat. It’s often hard to get polishes like this opaque without 3 plus coats.

Blackberry
Blackberry

Blackberry is a beautiful pale lavender crelly base with black matte hex and micro-glitters. 2 coats plus top coat.

Blueberry
Blueberry

Blueberry is a lovely periwinkle blue crelly base with black hex and micro-glitters. 2 coats plus topcoat.

Mint Chip
Mint Chip

Mint Chip (yes just like the ice cream) is a mint green crelly base with black matte hex and micro-glitters. This is one of 2 polishes in this collection that could have used 3 coats to achieve full opacity. This is 2 coats plus top coat.

Orange Sorbet
Orange Sorbet

Well anyone who knows me knows orange is my favourite colour!!!! This leans a bit salmony on the nail but I love it. I think it works well in summer but would also be cute in the fall. Black matte hex and micro-glitters in an orange base. 2 coats plus top coat.

Cherry on Top
Cherry on Top

I think Cherry on Top is the star of this collection. It’s so vibrant and happy and the glitter contrasts really well. It’s black matte hex and micro-glitter in a berry/pinky crelly base. This is the other polish that needed 3 coats for full opacity. I used 3 coats plus top coat for my picture.

I loved this collection. I’d never tried Pure Ice before but I didn’t even hesitate. I purchasedΒ the entire collection for 14 dollars. Loved the formulas on these and they are just so fun for summer. I hope we continue to see polishes like this from easily-accessible mainstream brands! Which one is your favourite?

4 thoughts on “Pure Ice Summer 2015 Swatches

Leave a Reply

