OPI Color Paints Review

Hey everyone! Today I’d like to talk a little bit about OPI’s new Color Paints. The set contains 9 jelly polish ‘tints’ that are meant to be used over their special silver base. You can wear them as polishes, or you can use them for a myriad of different nail art techniques like watermarbling or lead-lighting. They are being marketed as ‘Blendable Nail Lacquer.’ I picked up this set of 6 minis for $27.99 CAD from a Trade Secrets Outlet Store:

OPI Color Paints 6-piece Mini Set
OPI Color Paints 6-piece Mini Set

As you can see, there are 3 shades missing. My set included the following:

Silver Canvas Undercoat (to be worn as a base)
Primarily Yellow
Chromatic Orange
Pen & Pink
Purple Perspective
Turquiose Asthetic

Missing are:

Magenta Muse (reddish pink)
Landscape Artist (green)
Indigo Motif (deep blue)

The silver base was by far the nicest metallic I have ever had the pleasure of using. Fully opaque in one coat with zero brushstrokes. I was half-tempted to leave my nails as is once I got the metallic base on I was so smitten. But I was really keen on attempting some lead-lighting with these polishes. When you wear them over the silver they are incredibly vibrant. It’s something that you just can’t achieve with regular homemade tints.

I stamped over Silver Canvas using Bundle Monster plate BM-720 and Konad Special Black stamping polish. I then painted in some detail using 2 of the colours – Turquiose Asthetic andΒ Primarily Yellow.

Shade
Shade Shot

They were very easy to work with and I got a lovely punch of color with not much polish or effort. They were in fact blendable as promised.

Sun Shot
Sun Shot

I really liked the color paints. Enough that I would purchase the full size of most of them (especially that silver base!). I personally found them far easier to use than my own homemade tints and the color payoff is much better with these while still being sheer enough for something like lead-lighting. I definitely want to try a few more techniques with these, along with someΒ full-nail manicures. You can purchase these at Sally’s Beauty Supply and Trade Secrets, and various online retailers as well.

Until next time, happy painting!

One thought on “OPI Color Paints Review

Leave a Reply

