Nail Art: Game of Thrones Finale Mani

Being a massive Game of Thrones fan, I was incredibly saddened by the idea that Season 5 was already drawing to a close. When my friend @sloppyswatches suggested a Game of Thrones (GoT for short) collaberation to commemorate the finale, I was thrilled! However I must admit my artistic skills leave something to be desired – so I fell back onto something that I love; stamping. Here’s what I came up with!

Where Are My Dragons???
Where Are My Dragons???

More on this mani and the products I used after the break!!

So I knew there was no more perfect polish for this mani than Zoya Sansa. I mean the name! Plus it’s gorgeous. It’s a deep purply-eggplant with this gold shimmer that just knocks your socks off. A real stunner. It’s from their Fall 2014 Ignite collection and you can buy it directly from the Zoya Web site HERE. The base for the stamping was OPI My Vampire is Buff and it’s one of my favourite polishes for 3 reasons: It’s a dream to work with formula-wise, it’s less harsh than your typical white when you are doing nail art over it, and I’m a GIANT Buffy the Vampire the Slayer fan. The biggest.

Zoya Sansa and OPI My Vampire is Buff
Zoya Sansa and OPI My Vampire is Buff

I wanted to soften the base for the Daenerys and dragon art (I realize that’s actually a dinosaur stamp but it’s all I had to work with! To quote Tim Gunn; “Make it work!”) so I stamped using M Polish Gilded and an image on MoYou Princess Plate 14. M Polish is a 5-free handmade stamping polish and it is amazing!!! Gilded is from her newly released Metallic collection and you can buy it HERE. You can also follow her on Instagram at @mpolishes for restock info, new collection sneak-peaks, and beautiful reposts!

M Polish Gilded, Konad Special Polish in Black
M Polish Gilded, Konad Special Polish in Black

Using Konad Special Polish in Black, I stamped the princess and the ‘dragon’ images using Cheeky Cosmetics Jumbo plate 8 Princess Charming:

Stamping plates, stamper, and scraper
Cheeky Jumbo Plate 8, MoYou Princess Plate 14, Creative Shop Stamper and Scraper

I bought my Cheeky Plate on Amazon.ca and my MoYou plate from them directly on their U.K. site (or rather my husband did for Christmas!!)

And finally I got a chance to use my OPI Color Paints again:

OPI Color Paints 6-piece Mini Set
OPI Color Paints 6-piece Mini Set

With a very tiny nail art brush I painted in details on the stamp using Primarily Yellow, Chromatic Orange, Pen & Pink, and Purple Perspective.

Here is the finished collaberation collage! The artists that took part are:

@sloppyswatches
@darkartsandcrafts
@thepolishedmage
@adventuresinpolish

and of course yours truly, @thedotcouture!!! What do you think??

GoT Collaboration Collage
GoT Collaboration Collage

Well there you have it. I will be watching tonight’s finale with my perfectly manicured hands completely covering my eyes (because you KNOW some crazy stuff will go down). Thanks for an awesome season GoT, I will wait impatiently for your return next spring!!!!! #Team Daenerys!!!!

6 thoughts on “Nail Art: Game of Thrones Finale Mani

  1. Awesome post and awesome nails! I had so much fun with this! I thought your mani was such an adorable, original take on the theme.

    Like

Leave a Reply

