Hidden Treasure: Sinful Colors Hottie

Today I’d like to talk about a polish that could probably win my ‘Most Surprising Polish’ award, if such a thing existed. Sinful Colors Hottie is a sheer blue jelly polish packed with various-sized iridescent glitters. I bought it on clearance at Target Canada (RIP) right after Christmas 2013. I’m ashamed to say it’s sat unused in my Helmer since then. That is until today. And what I found was a true hidden treasure.

Sinful Colors Hottie
Sinful Colors Hottie

I’m not the biggest blue fan in the world, and the swatches and reviews I’d read showed an incredibly sheer polish with lots of pretty glitter, which is probably why it sat unused for so long.

3 Coats of Sinful Colors Hottie
3 Coats of Sinful Colors Hottie

That’s 3 coats of Hottie, no base. Formula was amazing – just the right amount of base and I didn’t have to fish for glitters at all. It has that beautiful jelly sheen to it, and the iridescent glitters make it very sparkly on the nail. However, I really dislike visible nail lines, so wearing it solo didn’t really do much for me. I decided to try it out over a few different base colours:

The Base Colours
The Base Colours

Unless specified, I used one coat of Hottie over one coat of base colour. Let’s start with a base of Sinful Colors Snow me White:

Sinful Colors Hottie over Snow me White
Sinful Colors Hottie over Snow me White

The blue jelly base is really apparent over white. It’s very pretty and delicate, sort of like a glittery version of Sinful Colors Cinderella.

Next I tried it over Sinful Colors Casablanca (a beautiful silver metallic), and Sinful Colors Endless Blue (a very intense and vibrant blue cream):

Sinful Colors Hottie over Casablanca and Endless Blue
Sinful Colors Hottie over Casablanca and Endless Blue

You can see Casablanca topped with Hottie on my index and middle fingers, and Endless Blue topped with Hottie on my ring and pinkie fingers. The blue jelly base pretty much disappeared into the silver. It was very nice, I could see it as a base for some winter nail art or even as a New Year’s Eve manicure. I loved it over Endless Blue, it was totally eye-catching and it only deepened and intensified the already gorgeous base colour.

And now I’ve saved the best for last. This is one coat of Hottie over Sinful Colors Black on Black:

Sinful Colors Hottie over Black on Black
Sinful Colors Hottie over Black on Black

There. Are. No. Words.

I mean really. I can’t even tell you how gorgeous this is in person. The blue jelly base completely disappears and you’re left with this gorgeous mix of coppery/green/blue shifting iridescent micro and hex glitters. Every polish should be this amazing. I couldn’t stop looking at my nails. I can see so much versatility in this polish now – over navy blue, dark green, deep vampy red. Matted. Not matted. Oh the possibilities!!

How about a sun shot:

Sinful Colors Hottie in the sun
Sinful Colors Hottie in the sun

So there you have it!!! Sinful Colors Hottie = beautiful polish. Sinful Colors Hottie over black = a true hidden treasure!!!! You can buy this polish at many many retailers in the US (lucky!!!) including Target, Walgreens, and Walmart. In Canada we aren’t quite as lucky, especially with Target withdrawing out of Canada. It’s carried in some Jean Coutou/Rexall PharmaPlus/London Drugs, but selection isn’t great and they are only available in certain parts of the country. Your best bet would be Dollarama. You read that right! For some time now Sinful Colors polishes have been popping up at Dollaramas for the awesome price of $1.50 CAD plus tax. The best part is we’ve gotten a lot of older limited edition polishes that are no longer available. I really hope this is a continuing trend and I would love to see the full collections (including all of their limited releases) available at a store like Walmart here in Canada!

Remember to visit me on Twitter: @thedotcouture and Instagram: @thedotcouture.

Until next time, happy painting!!

2 thoughts on “Hidden Treasure: Sinful Colors Hottie

  1. First of all, you are making me want to take off what’s on my nails and put on this combo right now!!

    Second, I just found your Instagram, then your blog, and I have to say, you just gained a loyal follower! Your manicures, nails, and pictures are stunning, and I can’t wait to look at your blog posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

