Swatch and Review: Orly Smolder

Hey guys! Today I have a quick swatch and review of Orly’s Smolder, an oldie from their 2012 Fired Up Fall collection, although it appears to have been made part of their permanent collection according to Orlybeauty.com. My favourite colours to wear on a daily basis are dark, vampier shades, and my favourite time of the year is Fall/Halloween. So come August my desire for fall-coloured manis goes into hyperdrive!!!!!

Orly Smolder - Fired Up 2012
Orly Smolder – Fired Up 2012

I stumbled upon Orly Smolder at my local Winners (owned by the same company that owns TJ Maxx and Marshall’s for you U.S. readers). I was immediately drawn to Smolder because it’s red, and I love red. Then I saw the name and immediately thought Flynn Ryder (what can I say, I love Fall AND Disney movies).

Smolder is a deep deep red/burgundy with a kind of coppery shimmer and the entire polish almost shifts to black both in the bottle and on the nail. More flashes than shiftsI guess. It’s GOREGOUS. A true ‘lit from within’ polish. And pretty much a one-coater if you are careful with application.

Orly Smolder - Fired Up 2012
Orly Smolder – Fired Up 2012

You can purchase this at Orlybeauty.com or places like Amazon.com and trust me, the pictures don’t do it justice.

Here’s a beautiful bottle shot in direct sunlight:

Orly Smolder - Fired Up 2012 (Direct Sunlight)
Orly Smolder – Fired Up 2012 (Direct Sunlight)

If vampy polishes are your thing, I’d suggest giving Smolder a go. It’s definitely a unique vampy red, I didn’t have anything like it in my collection, and am really happy to have it! Let me know what you think! Is this your type of polish? Are you as excited for Fall as I am?

Remember you can find me here:

Instagram

Twitter

Bloglovin

Pinterest

Happy Painting!!!!

5 thoughts on “Swatch and Review: Orly Smolder

  1. Yes… I am as excited for fall as you are LOL! I hate when vampy colors only show hints of their color in really bright light and otherwise look completely black – this one gets it perfect. You can see the darker tendencies of the polish, but the red still comes through beautifully. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

