Harlow ONE Series – Girly Bits Memorial Duo for the Alzheimer’s Society of Canada

Hi everyone!

Today I have for you the very first set of polishes from the Harlow ONE series, the Girly Bits Memories Duo to benefit the Alzheimer’s Society of Canada.

thedotcouture first horizontal image

Harlow ONE is a brand new monthly series from Harlow & Co, where each month they partner with an indie polish brand to release a limited edition collection. $1 dollar CAD from each bottle in the set will be donated to the brand’s charity of choice. These polishes will be exclusive to Harlow & Co. There will be a pre-order each month for the next month’s Harlow ONE set.

April is the inaugural month for Harlow ONE, and they’ve partnered with Girly Bits Cosmetics, an indie nail polish (and so much more) shop located in Ontario, Canada. Pam, the woman behind Girly Bits, has chosen a charity that is near and dear to her heart – The Alzheimer’s Society of Canada.

Sadly, this is also a charity near and dear to MY heart. My father developed early-onset Alzheimer’s in his 50’s, and was officially diagnosed in 2008. For the last 8 years I’ve struggled with the horror that is this disease. And that’s what it is. A living, breathing, horror. And unfortunately, this is not my first brush with Alzheimer’s. In 2004 my maternal grandfather died after a 7-year battle with Alzheimer’s.

The polishes Pam created for the Memories Duo are a beautiful representation of the fight against Alzheimer’s. You can tell she put a lot of thought into these polishes, right down to their names. I’d like to share them with you today.

Fragments

Fragments is described as “a watermelon coral with gold shimmer, and a variety of green, lavender, fuchsia, chartreuse, and aqua glitter.”

Formula was so nice on this one, not too thick but amazing coverage. The glitter payoff was fantastic and I had to do zero manipulating to get a nice glitter to base distribution. The photo below is two coats plus top coat.

thedotcouture Fractured shade
Fragments – Shade Shot

It’s almost like a pinky/coral neon!

thedotcouture Fractured sunlight.jpg
Fragments – Sun Shot
thedotcouture Fractured secondary
Fragments

Past and Present

Since purple is the colour of Alzheimer’s awareness, it seems very fitting to have a beautiful purple holographic as part of the duo. It’s described as “a purple holo with a pink shift.”

thedotcouture Past and Present sun shot
Past and Present

What can I say, this was a one-coater. I saw it shift from purple to blue to pink and back. I got a lot of compliments on this! When I looked down at this the purple reminded me why it existed, and the pink shift made me think of hearts and love, and how much I love my dad. Cheesy of me perhaps, but it was very comforting in a strange way.

the dotcouture Past and Present shift
Past and Present – Shift
thedotcouture Past and Present indoor shot
Past and Present – Indoor Lighting

Since this is a duo, $2 per set was donated by Harlow & Co to the Alzheimer’s Society of Canada for a total of $158.00 Canadian!!!!!! Way to go Pam, Katie (of Harlow & Co), and everyone who purchased!!!

Having been affected by this disease on both my maternal and paternal side, I fear for my future and what my own children might have to endure should I ever develop Alzheimer’s myself. I advocate for charities like the Alzheimer’s Society of Canada, and companies like these, ones that want to help make a change. We can all make a difference – together we are mighty!!!! I am excited to see what future Harlow ONE months will bring, and the differences we can make, one step at a time.

You can learn more about the Harlow ONE program here, the Memories Duo, and Girly Bits Cosmetics. And of course the Alzheimer’s Society of Canada.

Thank you for reading and allowing me to share a small part of myself with you today.

Until next time,

Jenny

Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest

Awareness Ribbon

3 thoughts on “Harlow ONE Series – Girly Bits Memorial Duo for the Alzheimer’s Society of Canada

Leave a Reply

