Event Coverage – Indie Expo Canada 2017 – Part Two

Earlier this month I was lucky enough to attend Indie Expo Canada in Toronto, Ontario, Canada as official press.

 

Press Smaller

Thedotcouture press

In part one of my post – I did an event overview and highlighted all of the amazing vendors who came. In this post I’d like to give you a real feel for what it was like at the Hyatt Regency.

File 2017-06-18, 11 11 02 AM

When you first exit the elevator on the mezzanine level of the Hyatt, the attention to detail and love that has gone into the planning of this event is apparent:

Photo 2017-06-04, 12 11 58 PM

There are tables set up for ticket holders and for people to place bids on the silent auction for Paint it Forward – a platform dedicated to raising money and awareness for charitable organizations. For the silent auction, Pam (creator of Girly Bits Cosmetics and organizer of all things Indie Expo – with a strong support team of course) has chosen The Marvelle Koffler Breast Centre as the recipient. So many amazing brands made prize donations! You can check them out here: 2017 Contributors. More on the silent auction later!

When the doors opened for the early-admittance VIP ticket holders, the crowd was a-buzz! Lines formed everywhere!

Photo 2017-06-04, 12 09 00 PM
VIP Ticket Holders at Tonic

During this open shop marketplace, I got to meet some amazing people!!!!

Thedotcouture Copycatclaws Canadiannailfanatic
Indie Expo Nails!

@copycatclaws@canadiannailfanatic and myself inadvertently had coordinating nails! Can you tell whose is who??

Then I got to meet Pam herself! I’ve been wearing her polish for years. It was like meeting some kind of superstar!

File 2017-06-09, 10 45 01 PM
Pam from Girly Bits Cosmetics!

Katie from Harlow & Co. was there (with her hubby too!!!) And let me tell you she is just the cutest and sweetest ever! She sidled up to me and I swear she could have been wearing a trenchcoat and sunglasses disguise as she opened up what looked like a black leather brief case containing the newest ILNP collection – and she let me pick one! I’ll have swatches in the near future!!!

Jenny Katie
Katie from Harlow & Co.!

Canadian beauty blogger and YouTuber Zenorah was there for the Speaker’s Panel and she is even more beautiful in person!!! Check her out on her YouTube and Instagram!

Lisa Zenorah Jenny
Lisa Hendy, Zenorah, and Myself!

I snapped a pic with her and fellow Ontarian @lisa.j.hendy – she is a YouTuber as well (and is an awesome person!!) and she has quite a few Indie Expo Vlogs up so I suggest you check her out here!

Next I ran into the beautiful @nailexperiments – I think I found my nail sister here!!!

File 2017-06-09, 10 37 42 PM
Elena From @nailexperiments and Myself!

I SnapChatted our meeting!!!

Krystal from Polish Galore and I have been good friends for a few years now, but this was our first time meeting!!! She was doing an Instagram Story Takeover for Nail It Magazine!

Thedotcouture Polish Galore
Krystal From Polish Galore and I!

In the midst of all of the shopping and selfies and networking, tutorial tables by some amazing bloggers were happening on the right ide of the grand ballroom. I managed to catch some of them!

Photo 2017-06-04, 11 11 32 AM
Tutorial Table Set-Up

Elena from @nailexperiments taught Special Effects Powders using various Girly Bits products!

Photo 2017-06-04, 1 54 58 PM
Elena from @nailexperiments Teaching Special Effects Powders

Photo 2017-06-04, 1 55 20 PM

I even gave it a whirl and created a multi-chrome to multi-chrome gradient on a test nail! Thanks for showing me the ropes Elena!

File 2017-06-23, 4 40 03 PM
Girly Bits Special Effect Powders at the Tutorial Table

Watermarbling with Melissa from @honeybee_nails.

Photo 2017-06-04, 1 55 40 PM

Photo 2017-06-04, 1 55 53 PM
Ooooh Pretty!!!!

Stamping 101 with Jenne from @polishedpathology!

Photo 2017-06-04, 2 41 42 PM
Jenne From @polishedpathology Teaches Stamping 101!

Tammy from @canadiannailfanatic taught advanced stamping!!!!

Photo 2017-06-04, 2 41 52 PM

Pam made them their special tutorial tees – basic black with their names in holo! They were amazing!

Another very interesting part of the event was the Speaker’s Panel. Melanie Layer of The Boss Vibe facilitated the panel of four amazing women:

Canadian Beauty Blogger Zenorah 
Krystal Emery of Polish Galore
Leah Ann Llarowe – maker behind Colours by Llarowe (CBL) polish
Claudia Murillo of Lovacado

Photo 2017-06-04, 10 49 25 AM

They discussed the importance of indie brands in the nail and beauty communities, and the impact and influence they have on both consumers and mainstream beauty industries. It was very inspiring to it and listen to them discuss the indie industry – we gained some personal insight into them as people as well as businesswomen and social media influencers. I thought it was a very lovely touch that fit in with the event theme very nicely!

File 2017-06-23, 5 19 11 PM
Left to Right: Krystal Emery, Zenorah, Leah Ann Llarowe, Claudia Murillo

 

For the second half of the day, Pam’s daughter Jen Knight and her bandmate played for the crowd. She’s a crazy talented singer, songwriter, and guitarist!!!!

Photo 2017-06-04, 1 21 07 PM

You should definitely check her out on her social media! Facebook | YouTube

And finally we are closing in on the end of the day and the silent auction. The best thing about the Paint if Forward foundation is 100% of the proceeds go to the recipients!!! That means that 100% of the money raised from this silent auction will be going to Mount Sinai.

File 2017-06-23, 5 29 19 PM
Pam Announcing the Winners of the Silent Auction Prizes

None of this could have been possible without the generosity of SO MANY PEOPLE! So thank you all for your kindness!

NEWS ALERT!!! In the middle of typing up this post I received the donation total!!!! Thanks to all of the vendors who donated prizes and the people who opened up their wallets and hearts to bid on them, a donation of $1857 CAD will be made to Mount Sinai on behalf of the Paint it Forward foundation. That’s incredible!!!!!! I am constantly amazed by the kindness and generosity of the indie nail and beauty community!

It was a whirlwind of a weekend but it was truly one I will never forget! I hope there are many many more like this. I consider myself blessed to be involved in what is one of the most supportive, kind, generous communities out there. I’m sure you agree with me! I hope you enjoyed my coverage of this inaugural event and perhaps I will see you next year!!!! Until next time, happy painting!

Photo 2017-06-04, 5 44 50 PM

thedotcouture IEC signoff

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Event Coverage – Indie Expo Canada 2017 – Part Two

Leave a Reply

