Happy 150th Birthday Canada!!!!

Nothing to Disclose

Tomorrow marks the sesquicentennial anniversary of Canadian Confederation. Essentially my beloved home and native land is turning 150 years old!!!! This is a HUGE deal here across Canada and in particular here in the capital city of Ottawa. For almost a year the country has been preparing to celebrate this special event. I thought I’d commemorate the event with some fun Canada Day nails!

To celebrate Canada’s special birthday, Nail Polish Canada teamed up with a group of bloggers to offer free Whats Up Nails Canadian Flag vinyls!! They wanted to help Canadians celebrate “in the most patriotic way possible.” The free offer is over but you can still buy these here.

I started with a base of Beyond the Nail Winter Wonderland (I picked this beauty up recently at Indie Expo Canada 2017 – how funny the inaugural Indie Expo coincided with Canada’s 150th!) and I am SO happy I did!

Photo 2017-06-30, 10 00 49 AM

Photo 2017-06-30, 10 08 45 AM

It’s a grey-white crelly with small silver and holo microglitter. Easy formula and opaque in two coats!

Then I took the Whats Up nail vinyls:

Photo 2017-06-30, 10 01 24 AM

And my favourite red holo ever – The Mighty Red Baron by Colours by Llarowe (who were also at Indie Expo Canada, though I had this polish already, purchased at Harlow & Co):

Photo 2017-06-30, 10 31 45 AM

And created these:

Photo 2017-06-30, 11 14 51 AM

I have to say, I’m pretty impressed with myself considering this is the first time I’ve really used nail vinyls!

Then the one smaller maple leaf on my pointer finger was making me unhappy:

Photo 2017-06-30, 12 18 40 PM

And then I thought I’d use Winter Wonderland to make a white maple leaf on the red background:

Photo 2017-06-30, 12 18 06 PM

I forgot that the red would affect the brightness of the white. I still like how they turned out though!

Photo 2017-06-30, 12 11 38 PM

So I hope you liked these, and if you’re Canadian, have a safe and happy Canada Day tomorrow!!!!!

Until next time, Happy Painting!

img_7382

Photo 2017-06-30, 12 21 17 PM

2 thoughts on “Happy 150th Birthday Canada!!!!

Leave a Reply

